Region?
 
Store reviews
Bundle page reviews
GamersGate
Helpful to 1 of 2 peopleposted 6 days ago
US

Had no issues with them until someone hacked my account, using my store credit to purchase a game. GG refused to return the credit, claiming I was at fault. Will never buy from again.

GamersGate
Helpful to 1 of 3 peopleposted 13 days ago
US

I'm concerned this website is a scam. I tried to buy Dark Souls 3 on sale and they rejected the payment and locked the account, claiming they were barring access to current games and deactivating serial numbers. They tried to hold my account hostage and demanded photo ID but I hadn't even bought anything yet. Basically you should probably shop elsewhere.

(o0aiv)
9 days ago

Bought xcom 2 and it worked fine.

Battle.net
Helpful to 3 of 4 peopleposted 25 days ago
US

Can't go wrong with Blizzard on getting your purchase.

WinGameStore

Bought a Game, stuck on "processing" after paying. If you take my money i expect a key now and not sometime later.

When you get a Steam account and buy all kinds of games, you not only build up a giant collection but also make your account a "hub" of the games you play, so you don't have to find each single game CD/DVD/etc to install. All you have to do is to find the game in your library, download, and play. It saves space both physically and digitally, as you don't have to keep the box or disc or the digital installation files--Steam's server keeps them for you. Should you need to switch PC, you just get Steam on the other computer, login to your account and download the games, although you can only play games on one computer at a time.

Steam also offers great community features, allows you to have friends to play together or share your gaming experiences. You can always show off your latest game screenshots to the public, or ask in the forums about any technical issues or difficulties you encounter in game.

As the world's largest gaming platform and digital game store, Steam offers a huge categories of games from the hottest AAA ones to lesser known indie games. While you can find top quality games based on its recommendation, it is not uncommon that you come across those cheaply-made shovelware from shady developers. In the latter case you may feel cheated because the games you bought with your money are not what you would expect, when the developer buys some pre-made assets and puts little to no efforts before releasing their game. The user review system has been constantly abused by such developers in an attempt to raise their review score when it's not supposed to be "positive", though Valve also knows about this situation and boots away these review-manipulating developers as well as making some changes to their user review system. Still, it doesn't prevent bad games from popping up every day.

Steam store offers a variety of payment methods based on your country, which is good because it generally makes it easier for you to make a purchase with your local payment account. You can either load funds into your Steam Wallet and then buy the games, or select your bank card during checkout. On the other hand, they control potential fraud activities very tightly, so you can get temporarily blocked from buying anything for several hours if you attempt purchases too frequently. This can be a pain because you might miss some promotions after you "buy this, buy that" and want to buy something more later on. In some cases your account can get limited from large purchases until you contact Steam support, which can take some time before getting into your ticket.

GreenMan Gaming
Helpful to 3 of 5 peopleposted 2 months ago
CA
We no longer cover this store

Very shady business, claims to offer pre-order keys, but they do not come with standard pre-order bonuses, and often, are not even available on release day. Will not do business with them again.

GameBillet
Helpful to 2 of 3 peopleposted 2 months ago
DE

I just want to say that it's not possible to pay with PayPal in this store. I didn't buy there because of that.

We no longer cover this store

Horrible store got even worse, apparently selling all the infos it gathered to another site. Hurray for European law forcing them to notice you and allowing you (hopefully) to delete their records - if they stick to their words.

GOG
Helpful to 2 of 3 peopleposted 2 months ago
GR

No DRM, nice community and I like the regional pricing. GOG galaxy need more work.

GreenMan Gaming
Helpful to 1 of 1 peopleposted 2 months ago (updated)
US
We no longer cover this store

I've purchased over a dozen games from GreenManGaming and have always received my key in a timely manner and have never had a problem activating a key on Steam. If you game on a Mac, some people, including me, do, be careful not to over pay. Often their Windows Steam keys will be on sale, but their Mac Steam keys will not. I have never had a problem purchasing a "Windows" Steam key that also has a Mac version of the game available. Your milage may vary. They accept PayPal so you can be sure that if you purchase with PayPal and you have a problem you'll be covered by PayPal's dispute resolution as part of PayPal's purchase protections.

I've purchased 18 games from GamersGate and have always received my key in a timely manner and have never had a problem activating a key on Steam. Each purchase earns BlueCoins, but I've never been able to earn enough to redeem them. They accept PayPal so you can be sure that if you purchase with PayPal and you have a problem you'll be covered by PayPal's dispute resolution as part of PayPal's purchase protections.

I've purchased over two dozen games from WinGameStore and/or their sister store, MacGameStore, and have always received my key in a timely manner and have never had a problem activating a key on Steam. You earn 1 Reward point for each dollar you spend. When you reach 100 reward points you receive $5.00 to spend in their store. They accept PayPal, but not PayPal Credit. This is my only complaint about them. Because they accept PayPal you can be sure that if you purchase with PayPal and you have a problem you'll be covered by PayPal's dispute resolution as part of PayPal's purchase protections.

MacGameStore
US

I've purchased over two dozen games from MacGameStore and/or their sister store, WinGameStore, and have always received my key in a timely manner and have never had a problem activating a key on Steam. You earn 1 Reward point for each dollar you spend. When you reach 100 reward points you receive $5.00 to spend in their store. They accept PayPal, but not PayPal Credit. This is my only complaint about them. Because they accept PayPal you can be sure that if you purchase with PayPal and you have a problem you'll be covered by PayPal's dispute resolution as part of PayPal's purchase protections.

Humble Store
US

I've purchased too many games to count from the Humble Store, including some of their awesome bundles, and have always received my key in a timely manner and have never had a problem activating a key on Steam. Humble usually contributes a portion of your purchase to a charity, so that is pretty cool. They accept PayPal so you can be sure that if you purchase with PayPal and you have a problem you'll be covered by PayPal's dispute resolution as part of PayPal's purchase protections.

I've purchased too many games to count from Steam's store...usually during one of their big sales. The best part about purchasing directly form Steam is the game(s) instantly appear in you library with having to activate a key. They accept PayPal so you can be sure that if you purchase with PayPal and you have a problem you'll be covered by PayPal's dispute resolution as part of PayPal's purchase protections.

this is pretty shit! I bought the division cut to 57% and guess what the serial is not showing up. Support is shit and now over the weekend - my only freetime - i cannot play the game I bought..fuck this shit!

WinGameStore
LV

On a scale from 1 to 10, the only reason to issue a 1 would be if the services were not provided at all. WinGameStore gets a 2. I had to spam them with emails and eventually their FB page just to get the keys that i had ordered. Took 4 days to get mah keys from them too, while EVERY single store i've bought keys from before have provided them instanly. But the worst part is the utter lack of communication on their part. I can understand, stuff can go wrong, but then just send a friggin email to your customer and inform that there's a delay and the keys will be delivered at a later time, eh? And then just ingoring your email inbox. Pathetic. I won't buy from them again, I won't recommend them to anyone and based on the amount of bad reviews here recently, i would stop featuring them on ITAD if i was an admin on this site. Cheers.

GOG
Helpful to 1 of 1 peopleposted 3 months ago
CA

One of the best merchants around. Although they started off selling refurbished copies of old games and nostalgia trips at fixed $6 or $10 price points, the products on offer are largely no different than any other vendor these days; with the exception that they won't publish new titles from the multi-billion-dollar publishers, they otherwise sell pretty much any new product from anyone.

However, where they continue to remain different is that they offer DRM-free products and are a refreshing island of sensibility in an otherwise non-sensical publisher-controlled market. Although they were forced to do regional pricing by stick-up-the-rectum big publishers, they actually refund you out of pocket for any price difference if the price you would pay is higher than the "base" price of the product. The website is clean and easy to use and their support team is astoundingly good. These people actually love video games, actually want you to be happy, and don't care so much about the bottom line so long as they stay in the black and you keep coming back as a loyal customer. It's pretty much impossible not to be loyal to people this great.

As a matter of preference I buy from GOG whenever I can, although their sale prices sometimes leave me wanting.

Regional pricing, account suspension when used out of region, can't run two products simultaneously on two separate devices in same household (e.g., editor on laptop and game on desktop, or distraction game on laptop while fidding around with modding on desktop, etc.), online authentication, enforced updating of games before play is allowed, "subscriber model" means your games are not "yours", fairly bothersome privacy agreement, mandatory non-disclosure agreements to sell products on Steam, class-action waiver/binding arbitration agreement, badge/market microtransaction model, some minor client features "unlocked" based on Steam level (i.e., money spent) rather than given to everyone, mandatory provision of valid e-mail address and phone number to allow market trades, promotion of DLC model, draconian loss of rights on Workshop-published items, and oppression of developers who attempt to sell Steam keys on their own webfronts rather than through the Steam store.

They are the biggest and you would be foolish not to buy from them because a substantial majority of titles are available nowhere else (as my library shows), but they are not the best and they don't have your interests at heart. =)

These folks used to be Paradox Interactive's own web store, and therefore their earliest titles show a strong Paradox bent (the earliest builds of Crusader Kings II even included an integrated Blue Coins microtransaction model). Eventually, Paradox sold off the store/split it off into an independent company, and it turned into a merely average web store.

Immediately after the sale, the site was one of the big online distributors in 2009~2010, selling full installers rather than keys, but a campaign of developers going to multiple publishing houses, their "IndieFort" storefront dying out, and especially major publishers simply giving out Steam/Origin/Uplay keys rather than distributing installers stole away a lot of their business over the last few years. The quality of their support has also declined (usually a wait time of one week for a ticket even in the off season), they just recently began to enforce regional pricing rather than merely regional distribution, and their system now flags items for manual review far more often than it used to and uses an obnoxious verification scheme. My experiences en masse over the years have otherwise been stellar, but the site is no longer one of my preferred vendors.

Show more reviews
There are no reviews that match your filter.
IsThereAnyDeal.com is not responsible for the content displayed. Any information may be already outdated at the time of visit.
All copyrights, trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
Coded by Tomáš Fedor, webdesign by Zelgaris.
I understand We use cookies. By using IsThereAnyDeal.com you agree with it. More info