Region?
PSA: Games Republic is shutting down.
You can log in to your account and download all purchased games till January 31st 2017.
 
Store reviews
Bundle page reviews
Back to deals

Do you want to check what other people think about the store we are covering? Do you want to share your experience? Let's help each other out.

You can share your shopping experience once you log in.

Your shopping experience
9
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Nuuvem [store]
hissteria | RS | 97 games | 8 games on reviewed store
Brazilian store with GREAT prices, especially when games are on sale. Everything is in Portuguese, but you'll find your way around. Keys are received instantly, never had any problems. Sometimes, there is regional lock on games, but, it is only on buying, not on keys or activation itself, and it is easily bypassed.

With GMG and GamersGate, best deals I've found were on Nuuvem.
Highly recommended store!
8
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Steam [store]
merlin2 | 1210 games | 1197 games on reviewed store
The new Steam is little cluttery, too much personal games, meaning they base what games i should buy based on past bought games. I dont like it. It should be a choice, not forced upon me, otherwise i like it.
8
2 years ago
GreenMan Gaming [store]
lepik | CZ | 7620 games | 0 games on reviewed store
€ ≠ $, otherwise a fine store with nice deals.. (also playfire rewards ;)
10
2 years ago
Steam [store]
lepik | 7620 games | 7550 games on reviewed store
one love :)
6
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Nuuvem [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Great sales, and good customer support.
Unfortunately, after buying from them and paying through PagSeguro, I've been bombarded with spam from different Portuguese sources. My Kaspersky even flagged some of those emails as phishing messages.
9
2 years ago
Steam [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 2011 games on reviewed store
Not always the first choice when it comes to prices, but I love Steam as a service. Nice and easy to use Store, with often additions and improvements. Constant sales and occasional special events. Functional client with ever-expanding features... Steam is the father of digital distribution.
7
2 years ago
GreenMan Gaming [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Nice store with occasional good deals. You get some cash back with your purchases and through Playfire rewards with which I was able to actually get some small games for free.
7
2 years ago
GetGames [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Easy to use store. Fast and friendly customer support. No problems so far with region locking.
5
2 years ago
Desura [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Focus mainly on indie games. I found the overall site layout to be not so intuitive. I don't usually understand when a game is free or not.
8
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
GOG [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 73 games on reviewed store
GOG is on a branch of its own usually offering games no one else does. I really like their philosophy of offering older games compatible with newer OS and DRM-free. Unfortunately, I don't find myself buying too much from them.
6
2 years ago
IndieGala Store [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
You won't find good deals for known games here. Mostly indie games at average prices. You can however exchange points for a little discount.
2
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
DLGamer [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
French site, but in English. I only tried to buy a game once; my order got cancelled several times. I contacted support but never got a reply.
6
2 years ago
GameFly [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
At first glance, everything seems to be region-locked here. However, I still managed to get a couple of good deals. GameFly has recently sold its digital download business to AtGames Holding.
4
2 years ago
Origin PC [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 27 games on reviewed store
No good sales, ever. The site forces me to use a single language according to my location. The Origin client is ugly, freezes my computer when loading, and scans every other single piece of running process. The recent addition of Play Time and On The House is why I gave it this score.
5
2 years ago
IndieGameStand [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Nice looking site, not so good of a selection, and occasional good deals.
8
2 years ago
Bundle Stars [store]
off | UY | 2165 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Those bundles are some times awesome!
8
2 years ago
Origin PC [store]
jb567 | 365 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Gives free games, uses local currency, only gripe is it uses microtransactions in its games and they dont activate on steam. Better than UPlay by far
2
2 years ago
Uplay PC [store]
jb567 | NZ | 365 games | 0 games on reviewed store
I had an NVIDIA voucher to get a free game, put me off forever, the game I tried to buy was a different edition, however the edition that was offered was not available in my country (New Zealand). The only way to get this to work was through a VPN, even when I did it I didn't get an email saying, hey this guy in the USA is buying stuff with YOUR money!
1
2 years ago
Origin PC [store]
moglee | IN | 0 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Does not allow using a credit card without saving it. Does not allow using Paypal for Indian customers :( Why do I have to save my credit card in your account to use it EA?
7
2 years ago
Steam [store]
rocketsurgeon | 7121 games | 5923 games on reviewed store
Pros: Great selection of games. The client works OK for the most part, but gets a bit slow as your library grows. The regular prices are not very attractive, but the sales are good.

Cons: The customer service is poor, whatever your inquiry is, the first response you get - usually after several days of waiting - is a cut&paste response that usually bear no signs of the sender having actually read your message. So, you need to send your request a second time, again wait several days, and usually the response you then get is less than satisfactory.
7
2 years ago
Origin PC [store]
rocketsurgeon | 7121 games | 79 games on reviewed store
An often maligned store and client that, these days, actually work pretty well.

Pros: Client looks good, is easy to use, and is not cluttered with a lot of community features. Customer Service is great compared to just about every other store, except maybe Amazon.

Cons: Prices are high, and sales are few and usually do not have very deep discounts. Like most other clients, installation of older games is sometimes a roundabout affair. The selection of games is quite limited, and for the most part consists of EA and PopCap produced games, plus games distributed by EA.
5
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Desura [store]
rocketsurgeon | 7121 games | 1012 games on reviewed store
A store where many games that have not yet made it onto Steam can be found.

Pros: Sells games you cannot easily find elsewhere. Comes with a client that help you keep your games updates, but that doesn't include any DRM. Regularly gives away games for free. Customer service experiences generally good, with some exceptions (see below). Most games can be downloaded and installed without the client.

Cons: Does not sell many "big name" games. Lately, the client has not been working well at all - lots of crashes etc. Complaints about the client not working are met with answers that essentially can be summarized as "tough shit".
3
2 years ago
ShinyLoot [store]
toecutter3095 | AU | 9401 games | 31 games on reviewed store
Support is lacking.

I bought a Groupees bundle with ShinyLoot keys but didn't activate all of them on the site for 6+ months. When trying to activate, got a vague "duplicate key" type of error so I raised a support ticket. Got the usual automated "we'll look at it" response, then about a week later a response from a real person mumbling something about the keys must have been used, will check further and reply again.

2 months later and I'm still waiting on that response.

In the meantime I have deduced that they expire the keys after a period of time. Lame.
10
2 years ago
Steam [store]
murp | NL | 3 games | 2 games on reviewed store
Best gamestore ever <3

Love it!
7
2 years ago
Bundle Stars [store]
macerv | CA | 514 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Don't expect too many box office titles, particularily the storefront which I don't really check out on many sites unless a title goes on record sale on my wishlist. That being said the bundles are often and many, although tend to be mostly indie games. However, you can occasionally get a good indie game for what is a historical low. Got a bundle that contained Exodus of Sol for along with 9 other games for the historical low of Exodus ($2.49), so not a bad deal.

Haven't had to deal with customer service as of yet, so no comment there. Although it is a bit odd that the paypal receipt goes to a specific guy as apposed to an organization account.
8
2 years ago
Humble Store [store]
macerv | CA | 514 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Humble Store (5)
The store is ok, you'll occasionally see a good buy, and the fact that a good chunk of the profits goes to charity is nice. Still not many "Great" sales, and really the humble bundle is the real thing that holds up the site.

Humble Bundle Review (9)
Have had great bundles in the past, love the fact that the majority of games can be activated on steam. They've also been really pushing lately to add more and more bundles which is nice for those of us who want to have more games than we will ever be possibly capable of playing. The Bundles have also diversified quite a bit, with a set books bundle as well now, which if you're into that sort of thing I imagine is nice, and it also keeps the haters at bay for not including it in the regular bundle.

Overall Score: 8
I say 8 because I use the bundle portion more than the store. While I have bought a couple games on the store, its the bundles that have risen my library from a mere 50 games to 200+
2
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Gamesrocket [store]
qvasi | SE | 406 games | 0 games on reviewed store
While they do sometimes offer okay prices for games that aren't already on a better sale elsewhere, there is also a risk to end having to go through their verification process, which from a customer's viewpoint is a hassle. This process includes sharing your phone number for an automated verification team to call you - for me that call was interrupted and I could not repeat it.

Secondly, they ask for a copy of your ID/passport and an ID-shot - a picture of yourself together with your ID/passport. Personally, that is not something I would share with a store that I do not know or trust. Luckily, to cancel the order and get refunded was as easy as replying to an email. I used PayPal to pay with.

I will not shop at this site again, or attempt to.
Apparently they have had problems with scams and hence this process.
6
2 years ago
Steam [store]
kazerniel | GB | 833 games | 761 games on reviewed store
While it has many cool features, Steam sells quite a few games that are plainly broken and others that don't at all support popular OSs, like Windows 7 (but Steam doesn't notify customers about this). Combine this with their "absolutely no refund" policy, and the result is basically Steam stealing people's money without providing the service we paid for.

Very frustrating and they don't seem to give a s--t about customer complaints, even if the game is clearly broken or in salvageable cases requires hours of tinkering (including installing obsolete drivers and running environments) from the user to make it work.
10
2 years ago
GOG [store]
kazerniel | GB | 833 games | 17 games on reviewed store
Excellent games and website.
5
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Humble Store [store]
kazerniel | GB | 833 games | 71 games on reviewed store
Quite clumsy interface - it doesn't store your cart, if you close the tab, the cart contents is gone and there's no genre filtering or ordering products by price.
6
2 years ago
Bundle Stars [store]
kazerniel | GB | 833 games | 0 games on reviewed store
I like their bundles, but the website could be more user-friendly. (Take the Humble Bundle library view as an example.)
6
2 years ago
Origin PC [store]
kazerniel | GB | 833 games | 9 games on reviewed store
Smooth shopping experience, but their games are very few and expensive. The client is also a bit temperamental, sometimes requires several tries to start it because it can't connect to their server. I like their "On the House" free games though.
6
2 years ago
GOG [store]
epeternally | US | 3985 games | 0 games on reviewed store
No frills DRM-free games, GOG do exactly what they claim to and nothing more. Why only a six? Their prices tend to range from being a little high for the age of the games to being a lot high for the age of the games. In some cases, their asking price is more than I paid for the same game ten or fifteen years ago when it was still relevant. Their library management is also fairly inelegant, and they don't offer Steam keys for games. Still, if you're into what they have for sale and are willing to pay a premium for it, GOG gives exactly what they promise, even if not a bit more.
3
2 years ago
Bundle Stars [store]
epeternally | US | 3985 games | 0 games on reviewed store
The overpriced behemoth of the bundle scene, best known for taking a bunch of crappy rebundles and trying to sell them for $4. Also known for spamming game deal sites with their non-bundle store 'deals', none of which are ever actually good prices. If you really want one of their bundles, you'll get what you paid for, but trust me... you probably don't. The same game will be in $1 within a couple of months.
7
2 years ago
Steam [store]
epeternally | US | 3985 games | 3571 games on reviewed store
Steam is our god. Steam is our curse. The Steam store is PC gaming. It's beloved, it's fantastic, it's the only way that most PC gamers will ever buy them. Steam redefined digital storefronts in a way that has changed the industry forever. Great games, great sales, and the new review and tagging systems add a lot of usability to the site.

So what does it do wrong then? The Steam client, mostly. It's a mess of incompetent coding and atrocious failures of graphic design. There are not words for how badly the Steam client fails without a third party skin, and even with one, there are huge functional deficits and bugs that have been reported and known for years without being fixed. Also Valve's customer service is abysmal in the case you should ever need it. Regardless of how legitimate your problem is, you'll just be told to piss off. I wish that was an exaggeration.

Another problem is the Greenlight program. It's badly designed, executed worse, and is side-steps the action that Valve actually needs to take - fixing their discovery problems and letting everyone into the Steam store - while simultaneously screwing over both developers and gamers.

So why does it still get a seven? When it works, it works well, and as a PC gamer there's just no living without it. For all of it's flaws, Steam is PC gaming, for better or worse.
8
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Nuuvem [store]
epeternally | US | 3985 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Works as expected, and frequently the cheapest source of Steam keys around. Their site might not be the best to look at, but it gets the job done, and they're reputable. They also offer support in English despite their target market being Brazil, which is a nice touch. Becoming increasingly region locked, but that's not their fault.
1
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Uplay PC [store]
epeternally | US | 3985 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Origin's primary fault is that it exists in a market that doesn't want it, but as a client, it's not really that bad. uPlay is actually that bad. There are not words for how much of an abysmal failure in all possible respects uPlay is. And be warned that even if you buy a recent Ubisoft game in the Steam store, you're going to be required to use uPlay in order to play it. Avoid at all costs. Ubisoft's PC ports are generally dismal, so you're not missing much if you skip their entire catalog outright. You should strongly consider doing so until they stop requiring uPlay and increase the quality of their ports dramatically.
1
2 years ago
Gamesrocket [store]
hylariov | 0 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Worst customer service ever!!!!!!!!! It took them 4 days to give me a key after I made my purchase
9
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
GamersGate [store]
niall | IE | 15 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Very good site. They have some great deals! Buying from them is quick and easy. For non-Steam games you get download and serial immediately. For Steam games you get serial in 10 mins. I've never had any problems on this site.
8
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
GOG [store]
niall | IE | 15 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Excellent site, I purchased Theme Hospital here so I could run it on my Windows 8 PC. Games are quick to download and work straight away. Most games are between €4 and €8.
7
2 years ago
IndieGala Store [store]
niall | IE | 15 games | 0 games on reviewed store
I bought one game in a sale here before. The prices are in US Dollars and they don't include VAT, so if you are buying from the EU you will need to add this on.
10
2 years ago
Steam [store]
niall | IE | 15 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Steam is great in my opinion! You can get some great deals here. I like having one place where I can have all my games. I've never had a problem buying a game here before. It's worth checking sites like GamersGate, GreenMan Gaming etc. for Steam games as they can be cheaper sometimes.
10
2 years ago
Amazon [store]
niall | IE | 15 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Review applies to amazon.co.uk. Amazon is a fantastic site. They have excellent customer service and returns are hassle free. Delivery is usually fast enough. There are private sellers there as well so experience with them can vary.
6
2 years ago
Origin PC [store]
niall | IE | 15 games | 0 games on reviewed store
OK site, there aren't many games but occasionally you get some good deals and even free games. The Origin client can be a bit dodgy sometimes and I've had problems downloading games before.
9
2 years ago
Amazon [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 1 games on reviewed store
Amazon.co.uk is pretty useless for digital games, on the rare occasion they do match steam prices, but theres no point as you might as well buy direct from steam/origin.

Amazon.com is a godsend for non-US buyers, as when they match Steam US prices, it leads to a 25-40% discount over Steam UK prices, and its easy to buy over from there.

However its infuriating and annoying how randomly they decide to reduce prices and how unpredictable it is. By the way, it would be good to see Amazon US prices in the UK version of Isthereanydeal.com
1
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
DLGamer [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Completely Useless, They take up half of the Isthereanydeal.com web page with their 7% discounts. wish they'd go away.
10
2 years ago
Nuuvem [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Probably the greatest digital game shop in the world
5
2 years ago
GameStop PC [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Apparently the US store has great deals. However UK customers can't use it, and the UK store has nothing and is far more limited in terms of digital games
8
2 years ago
Square Enix [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 0 games on reviewed store
When they have sales, their games are real cheap and activate on steam. However Square Enix games are always on sale everywhere and everyone owns all of them by now
10
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
GamersGate [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 14 games on reviewed store
Great deals, particularly like their categorization and filters on their website. Its suprisingly rare to be able to see full games on sale only and hide DLC as you can here. they also mention what DRM is used properly and not half heartedly like many other similar shops.

Not to be confused with #gamergate
9
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
GreenMan Gaming [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 2 games on reviewed store
Some of the best deals around, store is unwieldy to navigate tho. almost always voucher available for 20% off, so wish they would just adjust their prices in the first place. (however now vouchers have a minimum spend rule so less useful than before). their attempt at bundles are mega-fail. DRM-signposting is inconsistent, particularly with some games needing download of client, and others not specified very well.
6
2 years ago
GamesPlanet UK [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 0 games on reviewed store
When they do flash deals they're pretty good, but usually cheaper on German version of website for some reason. Most of the time they don't have much happening
1
2 years ago
Newegg [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Yo, If you want a good score, then allow non-US buyers to buy
1
2 years ago
Gamesrocket [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Wow 3200+ offers!. wait a moment, most of them are about 8% off. see my review for DLgamer below
5
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
ShinyLoot [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Strange Store. like Desura on drugs, with an extra layer of key activating. think theyre changing tho to sell more steam games.
7
2 years ago
Desura [store]
dodj33 | GB | 3148 games | 122 games on reviewed store
I gave them a good score because I felt sorry for them. poor guys, they try but nobody would take their keys for free
1
2 years ago
Amazon [store]
kazerniel | GB | 833 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Their game sales are never available for non-USA customers :/
6
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Gamesrocket [store]
shimaaji | DE | 2164 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Please note, that my presently relatively low score is based on a peculiarity of this store that AFAIK only applies for German customers. Before they introduced this I would have easily rated this store with 9 or 10 points.

Now on to the problem when shopping from Gamesrocket from Germany: They 'sometimes' (not always) want to confirm the "address" of the one purchasing something. For that purpose they cooperate with a company called "SOFORT", which also operates the 'Sofortueberweisung' payment service. The problem is, that SOFORT only offers two options for confirming ones' address:

a) Read one of the new ID cards (Personalausweis) with one of the card readers available for this. (Many people still have the old ID card and among those who have the new one only very few own a reader.)

b) Enter your bank account data including your PIN number. (To my knowledge ALL banks in Germany forbid the usage of the PIN number in any other context except their own banking system, because this is a major security problem.)

And the worst part is: They only inform you about wanting to verify your address AFTER you completed the payment for your purchase, but BEFORE they deliver anything.


That being said: In my case, after I complained because I could not use any of the two options to verify my address, they reimbursed my money to me swiftly even on a weekend. So it's not like they are a fraudulent company. They also hand out their real world address through their homepage and I still think they are a good company. It's just, that I cannot recommend shopping from they as long as they cooperate with the SOFORT AG I mentioned before. (They only do these checks occasionally ... so you might be lucky. Also if you shop from abroad I think they offer different verification methods than for customers from their home country Germany, which might also be okay.)

If they ever change their system I will gladly update my review here, since the prices they offer as well as their customer support are really good.
8
2 years ago
GOG [store]
shimaaji | DE | 2164 games | 4 games on reviewed store
So far my experience with GOG was very good overall, but I have a few problems that still prevent me from handing out the highest possible score of 10 points. (Note that the negative points will make up most of the text. I don't think I'll have to go into too much detail about the good stuff everyone knows about.)

the good:

- DRM free
- usually lots of bonus content for the games (like digital versions of maps etc. that where part of the original boxed versions of the games)
- games patched up to run (for some games this includes unofficial patches, that are all but mendatory)

the bad:

- Missing language versions: This might not be a major problem for most of the customers who only speak English, but seriously: For DVD and BluRay movies it has become the quasi-standard that both the original and the local language are included. (So for example for a Chinese movie sold in Britain English and Chinese audio tracks and an English subtitle track would be the minimum that HAS to be provided.) Unfortunately GOG, in case of many if not most of the games not originally designed in English, does not offer the original language version. It would be preferable to have all language versions ever released for a game (which for example Steam does in most cases, though not all), but really: English + Original Language is the bare minimum, which GOG does not deliver.
- No Linux versions even if they exist: Until a short while ago GOG did not have any Linux versions of games at all. Luckily this has changed, but the last time I checked quite a few Linux versions for games on the site where still missing. Nothing can be done of a game does not have a Linux version, but if it exists I'd really like to have it.

As I mentioned before: GOG still is a great site. In case of games where the original language is English and a Linux version does not exist you likely won't be able to get a better version of the game than available on GOG.
8
2 years ago
GameFly [store]
icedragon12 | US | 2798 games | 0 games on reviewed store
it great but taxes and dont even tell u that there is taxes.
Pro: coupon with discounts, some better deals than steam.
Con: taxes no matter what after u buy u get tax info not cool
2
2 years ago
Amazon [store]
blue | 2915 games | 0 games on reviewed store
I miss Tony, new guy is useless :(.
1
2 years ago
Gamesrocket [store]
schroeb | DE | 1119 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Bought a game, paid with my verified PayPal account. But apparently that's not enough to actually receive an ordered and effectively paid for game, as they require an additional "address verification" that gives you exactly two options:

1. scan your german ID card with a reader device that noone owns, or

2. enter your bank details including your online banking PIN(!!) at a third party page, which would blatantly ignore the security regulations of your bank regarding your account details.

Since none of these options is feasible, I offered to check my identity in person as I work just 5 minutes away from their office, but I did not get a response on this; however I swiftly got my money back via PayPal.

This was easily the worst experience I ever had with any Online store since this "address verification" is not mentioned during the sales process and happens only after you placed the order AND already paid, but before the "goods" would ship.

I wil not try to shop there again.
-
2 years ago
Steam [store]
dcrockerjr | US | 11367 games | 7951 games on reviewed store
the good:
large catalog
allows categorizing of your game library
finally allows negative reviews, vital reading to avoid broken or rip-off games
allows sorting games by userscore when shopping
the bad:
sometimes hides negative reviews using foreign language as an excuse,"google translate" anyone?
user scores are sometimes inflated, most noticeable when they are still giving a game 100%
their "early access" titles should be avoided because it is often abused by take the money and run types
sometimes instead of patching a game a dev will just delete the store page and will then put the patched version on steam with a different product number, this means some games in my steam library don't have working store page links, also it creates problems because without a store page itad can't see that i own a particular title.
they sell origin and ubisoft titles
1
2 years ago
Gamesrocket [store]
thunderchief | 6 games | 0 games on reviewed store
GamesRocket
I purchased a game from this site believing they are legitimate because their prices are referenced on ITAD. Well they are not !

After registering on their site and ordering the game they took my money and confirmed my order. Then instead of sending me my code they sent another email requesting that I send a photo of myself holding a photoid next to my face. I used paypal. They do not have my real name or credit card details. What are they going to compare it against?

Regardless of this, the requirement was not made prior to purchasing or them taking my money. If they wish to have such a requirement it should be done during the registration process!

I sent them an email immediately asking for either the game code or my money back. This was on the 21st and it is now the 26th. An automated reply said they will get back to me within 24-48 hours.

I would not recommend this site to anyone else and according to the comments on the gamesrocket facebook page many others would also agree with me.

I don't think you should be referencing gamesrocket on your site any longer. If I were you I wouldn't want to have any connection to GamesRocket at all.
9
2 years ago
Steam [store]
cavcavali | TR | 480 games | 480 games on reviewed store
Locally and generally one of the best platforms for gaming ever. Easy to use with good deals, automatically updates games on regular basis, community help, and a lot of good stuff.

For negatives, its a pain to navigate, browse games on the market. A lot of games, with really bad games.
7
2 years ago
GreenMan Gaming [store]
cavcavali | TR | 480 games | 0 games on reviewed store
A little bit creepy. Claims that given you a free game, but wants something back for it. Sometimes good prices though.
4
2 years ago
Uplay PC [store]
cavcavali | TR | 480 games | 0 games on reviewed store
It is not good as is. Bad UI, bad prices, bad menus... Almost everything is bad with this platform, but the thing that do like, when you win an achivement, you actually gain something ingame. thats good stuff. but i'm afraid it is the only good stuff about this platform.
5
2 years ago
Steam [store]
binarysplit | 861 games | 738 games on reviewed store
Steam is chaotic neutral. They sometimes do a good job and speak up for PC gamers, or add cool new features to the Steam Client. They also have terrible customer service and don't do a very good job of policing their own store.

Ultimately, every purchase from Steam is a risk. They have a strict No Refunds policy, so even if your game was falsely advertised or so buggy that you can't get past the menu, you're screwed. You have to do your homework and check reviews and forums before you buy a game, or else you're gonna have a bad time.
1
2 years ago
IndieGala Store [store]
naxos | 647 games | 0 games on reviewed store
I ordered The Last Federation on 1 January 2015, and as of 7 January 2015 I have not received the game. I have contacted their support twice - once from the form on their website and once via email - and they have yet to respond.
1
edited 2 years ago | 2 years ago
Gamesrocket [store]
squarelycircle | US | 1291 games | 0 games on reviewed store
I purchased the Skyrim legendary edition from Gamesrocket today. I paid with Paypal, and they responded that I needed to verify my identity. First they sent an e-mail with a link to enter my phone number. I did so, and received an automated call that had so much static, I wasn't certain I heard what it was saying correctly. Finally, it got to a point where it asked me to press 1 to continue (or something similar). I pressed 1 and nothing happened, so 15 seconds later it repeated the message. I pressed 1 again, and 15 seconds later it repeated the message a third time, so I pressed 1 like 10 times (perhaps I should have considered holding the 1 button for a longer period of time). The automated call grumbled something and hung up on me.

Then I received an e-mail, telling me that verification had failed, and that another method was required. I needed to send a picture of myself holding my id or passport (an "id-shot"). They sent me this link to enhance their explanation of how it should look: http://www.gamesrocket.com/images/image.jpg

Well, I sent them an "id-shot", which I assure you is not a practice done at any normal digital distributor, and I question the wisdom of having complied. I then searched online and found that some people waited weeks before getting the key.

I guess this would all be forgivable - after all, they're just trying to protect us from fraud - except that so many very good digital distributors don't have these extreme measures. So why should I give Gamesrocket my business? If I thought that it would be easy to get my money back, I'd do it.

People seem to suggest that it isn't an all-out scam. You do (in all but one case I read about) eventually get your stuff. But I'm sure you can imagine how frustrating it would be to make a purchase expecting to be playing the game within the hour, and then having to wait 2 weeks. Even the option of cancelling the order and purchasing from another site is risky.

Update: After sending them my id-shot, they cancelled the order. I did get my money back, but now they've got my id on file...
10
2 years ago
Steam [store]
marsun | RU | 7798 games | 7052 games on reviewed store
=)
10
23 months ago
GreenMan Gaming [store]
rauh | ES | 186 games | 0 games on reviewed store
fast and reliable
9
22 months ago
Steam [store]
huangjs | TW | 3812 games | 3790 games on reviewed store
Official store for Steamworks games.
100% legit.
9
22 months ago
Bundle Stars [store]
redhook347 | US | 159 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Bought two bundles, somewhat against my will, since the price ($2.50ea) was well worth it for even a single game. The curation on at least those two bundles was great, as each bundle stuck to a central theme, but still had strong internal variety (unlike some other bundle sites, where it’s just a random grab-bag of games).

My only complaint was the account creation process was unclear: they only use third party login to retrieve your personal info. They still force you to create a dedicated login on their site. Not a big deal, but that’s why it’s not 10/10.
9
edited 22 months ago | 22 months ago
Humble Store [store]
euphoria | US | 217 games | 0 games on reviewed store
Note: This is my personal rating and review of the entire Humble Bundle website, not only the store.

This website was where I discovered the marvelous invention known as a "bundle" and ever since, I have been throwing money at the screen constantly. Luckily, it doesn't have to be a lot of money if you don't want it to or can't afford to pay a fortune for a few games. In my opinion, Humble Bundle is the best website for getting great games cheaply. Not only are the bundles usually filled with good/popular/well-known games, but buying them is also a good deed (depending on what your idea of a good deed is...). If you can't afford good games at the moment, than Humble Bundle is definitely worth checking out. You will, at the very least find something good to keep you entertained until the perfect deal comes along. Now, onto the good and the bad...

The Good:
-Compared to other bundle websites, Humble Bundles usually have more games as well as better games (from what I've seen).
-Humble Bundles are only $1.00 for the first tier of games, while most other bundle websites have a higher base price. Not that the other bundles are overpriced, but the low base prices allow people who don't have a lot of extra money for games to get some games anyway!
-Humble Bundle occasionally offers free game keys in promotion for certain bundles.
-Humble Bundle offers the games on Steam as well as DRM-free versions (if allowed by the game's developers).
-Part of the money spent on bundles will go to charity automatically.
-You can choose where your money goes! Split up what you plan to pay between the game's developers, the Humble Bundle website, or to the charity that is being donated to for the particular bundle you are buying.
-Steam keys are available instantly. Activating your new games don't require any waiting time.
-Your account has all of your purchased bundles' information and DRM-free game downloads available at anytime.
-The website is visually appealing, easy to use, and has some useful features.
-PayPal, Bitcoin, Amazon, and good ol' credit cards are all supported.

The Bad:
-Bundles are occasionally filled with boring or very similar games. You may not like all the games in the bundle. But, buying a bundle for only one of its games will be cheaper than buying the game by itself 99.9% of the time.
-The store is nothing special. There's rarely more than a handful of games on sale at the same time, usually the discounts aren't even that great, and I've rarely seen really good games at highly discounted prices. You will usually be able to find similar, if not better, deals on any other store with the same game on sale.
-Your Humble Bundle account has to be connected to your Steam account (I would assume at least a few people dislike this). Since the game activation method has been changed to manually activating games with a game key, you may not be required to connect your accounts.
-Sometimes it takes awhile before new bundles are offered, so it may take a bit of waiting before you find another bundle with games you really like. But with the price of each bundle being so low, who can really complain?
-There aren't any other websites like Humble Bundle (this is probably the worst part).

I highly recommend checking out and using Humble Bundle, at least for it's bundles. Checking the store occasionally doesn't hurt either. As far as bundle websites go, Humble Bundle is the best around. If you can't pay a whole lot on games, pick up a bundle! That's what Humble Bundle is about, but if you have some extra money, donate it! I've done both, admittedly paying minimum for awhile even if I had extra cash. I grew to respect what Humble Bundle is doing though, so I felt like paying more than necessary when possible. If you can, set aside a bit for Humble Bundle too, they are offering a pretty unique way for saving massive amounts of money on great games, and donating money at the same time. You could also give a little to the developers, but that's probably not too important... haha.

If the store offered deals on better games more often, my rating would be a perfect 10/10. You really can't beat offering, on average, three games for $1.00 and around 9 games for ~$12.00. Overall, I give Humble Bundle, as a whole, a 9/10.
Show more deals
There are no reviews that match your filter.
IsThereAnyDeal.com is not responsible for the content displayed. Any information may be already outdated at the time of visit.
All copyrights, trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
©2011 Coded by Tomáš Fedor, webdesign by Zelgaris.
I understand We use cookies. By using IsThereAnyDeal.com you agree with it. More info